Ven. Ñāṇavimala’s Suggested Readings

List of Suttas for Upāsakas

links below open a new page with a translation,
of the discourses where we could find them

Who is an Upāsaka?

Various qualities of upāsakas

Saddhā, sīla, diṭṭhi-ujuka

Sigalovāda Sutta: duties to family

Duties of upāsaka to Saṅgha

Eight dhammas for laypeople (Gahapativagga)



How life grew shorter

What will happen in the future



Dāna, damma, saṁyama

Whom to give dāna to

How to give dāna

Merit to petas

Dāna as mahapphalaṁ

Dāna ānisaṁsa


Eight sīla for laypeople

Uposatha, not only once in a while

What is uposatha?

Sīla as kāya vācā mano sucaritaṁ

Ariyakanta sīla


Sutta to Anāthapiṇḍika – even a lay follower should train in paviveka

Diṭṭhi ca ujuka, sīlañ-ca suvisuddhaṁ, four satipaṭṭhāna, samādhinimitta (M 44)

Anāthapiṇḍika Sutta

Sutta to Mahānāma

Sutta to Mahānāma

How to judge the Dhamma

Eight qualities of the Dhamma

Kālaṁ āgameyya

Keep the mind healthy at old age

Don’t be the last person in the line

Benefits of Dhamma Practice

No fear of death

Some benefits

First duties to oneself

Not to neglect oneself for the sake of others

First establish yourself, then teach

Duties to relatives

Duty to establish relatives in faith in

Duty to establish relatives in faith in Buddha, Dhamma, Saṅgha, sīla

List of Suttas for Bhikkhus

Complete the Noble Eightfold Path in a specific order to obtain samādhi. After that sammāñāṇa and sammāvimutti.

The gradual training for a bhikkhu

The gradual training for jhāna.

If you have difficulties at the present level of practice then take one step back and practice at that level.

for laypeople - eight precepts
for monks - Pātimokkha
for ariyas - ariyakanta sīla.
This sutta is describing a different kind of sīla which is purity in kāya, vāca and mano (tīṇi sucaritāni). Based on this sīla, pīti will arise.

Reflecting on the Buddha, Dhamma and Saṅgha leads to step by step progress as follows: saddhā, pāmujja, pīti, passaddhakāya, sukha, samādhi. This process is how one comes to Samādhi with joy and Dhamma-understanding as a basis.

More or less the same as M7, but based on purity of the twelve qualities.

How to practice for sammāñāṇa and sammāvimutti with jhāna as the basis